Toggle Navigation

Webinar: Expanding Healthcare Worker Roles in 2nd Trimester Abortion Care

Please join us for a Webinar hosted by the Supporting Expanded Roles for Abortion services by Healthcare workers (SERAH) working group, and the Abortion and Post-Abortion Care Consortium (APACC)                

Monday, 29 October 2018

11am EST / 3pm GMT / 4pm CET / 6pm EAT 

90 minutes

Register here

To increase safe abortion access and mitigate global shortages in abortion health care providers, the World Health Organization (WHO) published the evidence-based guideline, Health Worker Roles in Providing Safe Abortion Care and Post-abortion Contraception, which offers a range of options and recommendations for task-sharing safe abortion care, including the provision of abortion methods, management of abortion complications, and the provision of post-abortion contraception. Based on reviews of the global evidence, these guidelines recommend tasks that mid-level providers, including midwives, nurses, community health workers, and pharmacists, among others, and women themselves can safely and effectively undertake. This webinar is focused on the recommendations related to 2nd trimester abortion. Panel presentations will be followed by Q and A from Webinar participants. The webinar will be chaired by representatives from SERAH and APACC:

Chairs:

Annik Sorhaindo, Consultant, Department of Reproductive Health and Research, WHO and Rasha Dabash, Senior Director, Gynuity Health Projects

Panel:

Women’s experience of second trimester medical abortion delivered by midwives in Sweden

Inga-Maj Andersson, RN, RM, PhD, Programme Officer, National Board of Health and Welfare, Sweden  

Expanding access to second trimester abortion care services: Ipas Ethiopia’s experience

Demeke Desta, MD MPH, Senior Program Manager, Ipas Ethiopia

2nd trimester out-of-clinic abortion: Safety, experiences, and perspectives from Indonesia and Argentina 

Caitlin Gerdts, PhD MHS, Vice President for Research, Ibis Reproductive Health, USA

The SERAH working group was formed in December 2015 to facilitate a coordinated approach towards moving these guideline recommendations into policy and practice at the country level. SERAH includes representatives from Department for Reproductive Health and Research at WHO, the International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics (FIGO), Gynuity Health Projects, Ibis Reproductive Health, International Campaign for Women’s Right to Safe Abortion, International Confederation of Midwives (ICM), International Planned Parenthood Federation (IPPF), Ipas Global, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM), Marie Stopes International (MSI), Pathfinder International, and Population Studies International (PSI).